Skip to main content

Scrum Teams Without Developers - Is It Worth Logging Bugs As Backlog Items?

Last post 03:32 pm July 18, 2024 by Daniel Wilhite
6 replies
06:15 pm July 12, 2024

Does it really make sense to manage bug reports as backlog items, on non-development teams?

I'm a QA Manager using SAFe. One of my ARTs consists of several non-development scrum teams. They own products but outsource all development work to vendors. However, some of the teams have sprint stories to test the product once they receive new versions from the vendor. But this is something like a re-test or sanity test b/c the vendor is responsible for the primary testing. Nevertheless, bugs are normally found, requiring the vendor to fix and send a patch. The scrum team is inclined to log bugs in a spreadsheet. At first, my anti-pattern alarm was going off. But after spending time wrapping my head around their context, I'm not sure. 

On dev teams, it's intuitive to estimate work around bug fixes because the bug fixing and testing will be performed by the team. But if that work is not performed by the team, logging bug reports (e.g., as Jira issues) seems a little weird. Let's not do it merely b/c dev teams do it.

I would love to hear from people with similar experiences.

07:54 pm July 12, 2024

In the situation you describe, who is making any commitments and what are they? What are those people accountable for?

Whoever is doing the work to meet commitments they have made, ought to manage their own work.

12:51 pm July 14, 2024

It doesn't make sense for your team to use Scrum, let alone a Product Backlog or "stories", if you're trying to use Scrum to validate a release from a vendor.

A conversation with the vendor's Product Owner to discuss the best way to communicate bugs might be a good next step. 

02:56 pm July 15, 2024