Skip to main content

Requirement/story building tasks

Last post 03:48 pm July 10, 2024 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
10:25 am July 10, 2024

I've worked on a few Scrum projects now but have always been move involved with or lead the development (implementation) side of things based on stories that would magically appear on the backlog. The development of the stories would be discussed in stand-ups but not tracked as tasks on the board.

On my current project, I am leading the requirements gathering as well as the implementation and am looking for some advice around best practices for tracking the analysis/story building tasks vs. the development tasks.

This is a data migration project so there is arguably more work in developing the stories/requirements than actually implementing them.

My first inclination is to develop user stories specific to the requirements gathering similar to this: "As a business analyst, I want to map customer fields from source system 1 to the target system schema so that a developer can implement the mapping."

This would then allow another PBI to be created with a user story for implementing the customer field mapping.

My questions are:
1 - Does this approach make sense?
2 - Any other approaches?
3 - Is it normal not to track "story building" tasks as part of a sprint (this has been my experience)?

thank you,
Hassan

02:55 pm July 10, 2024

I don't think this approach makes sense.