Skip to main content

User Story Refinement/User Story Workshop

Last post 08:42 pm June 6, 2024 by Thomas Owens
2 replies
11:12 am June 6, 2024

Hello 

I am new to Scrum and Jira, i am looking to become a Scrum Master

In the company i work for the Scrum team have User Story Workshops/Refinement Sessions

Questions.  

1. In terms of the Acceptance Criteria, how does the Product Owner Get these. How can they be sure those are indeed the complete list of Acceptance Criteria 
  2. In terms of the Meeting approach/Mechanics  - How does one know if the Story will need Dev/Testing/Prod Release.  The reason i ask is that they have a standard template for Features and Stories which as standard include Dev/Test Prod etc. But in some case these might not be applicable 

Regards

Rice 

07:27 pm June 6, 2024

It's the Increment being put into use which must be Done. The things you are describing may or may not represent a certain level of Done, but where is the Definition of Done for the whole Sprint Increment? That's what I would advise you to get in order with the Developers. Ultimately they will be accountable for the quality of the work they do.

08:42 pm June 6, 2024

Acceptance Criteria come out of conversations with the stakeholders, often the customers or users of the product being built. The Product Owner is the one who is primarily accountable for managing the Product Backlog and ensuring that the work done by the team is valuable, which often means interacting frequently with stakeholders and understanding their needs and desires. However, it's often less than optimal to have the Product Owner be a gatekeeper between the rest of the Scrum Team and the stakeholders.