Skip to main content

1 Year Planning and Scrum Short Term - How to approach

Last post 04:05 pm June 11, 2024 by Joeri Mastop
4 replies
11:04 am June 6, 2024

Hello 

I am new to Scrum and JIRA 

Scenario I work in an organization that's fast pace and wants a clear 1 Year Roadmap. 

The challenge i have is that the Team i have joined cant broaden their horizon beyond a 2 Week Sprint or a PI (which is 3/4* 2 week sprints)

So the most i can show is a 2 month  Horizon.  

How can i get the team to help me/what approach can i take to broaden the planning Horizon 

Regards

Greg 

07:19 pm June 6, 2024

If it was actually possible to have a "clear 1 year roadmap", why would the organization need Scrum at all? Scrum is about innovation under complex conditions of high uncertainty, and learning to build the right thing at the right time.

08:31 pm June 6, 2024

Frameworks such as Scrum are designed for use in a complex environment. In such an environment, it may not be possible to have a reliable roadmap that is more than a few weeks or months long. Any effort put in creating, communicating, and revising such a roadmap would be wasteful and would only take away time from valuable work, like developing the product.

For environments that can create long-term roadmaps that are reliable and hold true, then perhaps agile and adaptive frameworks like Scrum introduce more waste by having more frequent planning sessions. If you can sit down for a few days and plan 4, 6, or even 12 months out, you'd spend less time planning than you do in Scrum. However, there are few organizations that have such long-term clarity.

12:34 pm June 7, 2024

clear 1 Year Roadmap

It would help if you defined what "clear" means. Clarity is not bad if we understand where the limits are and realize that plans are plans and things may not necessarily go according to the plan.