Skip to main content

Items in a Sprint don’t get finished and there is spill over

Last post 11:08 am June 12, 2024 by Ryan Kent
7 replies
10:55 am June 6, 2024

Hello 

I'm new to Scrum and JIRA 

What happens when Items in a Sprint don’t get finished and there is spill over –

Question How does it get calculated from a story point perspective in JIRA in the sense part of the work was completed some was remaining. How can i account for part of the work completed and carry forward for the Story points that are left to be completed. 

If i shift the story to the next Sprint it gives a false view that i have complete more work that is the case as it bcomes skewed 

Reason i am asking is that the company i work for has Tableo Tracking which tracks Scrum KPIs 

Cheers 

Rice 

07:09 pm June 6, 2024

There's no spill over in Scrum. A Sprint Goal is either met or it isn't, and any unfinished work is re-estimated on the Product Backlog for consideration in a future Sprint Planning session. That's it.

Velocity is the rate at which work is Done, not part done. Any work partly completed, once re-estimated on the Product Backlog, can be expected to lower the overall amount of work remaining.

08:23 pm June 6, 2024

As it's defined in the Scrum framework, work doesn't "spill over". When the Sprint timebox expires, undone work is returned to the Product Backlog, where the Scrum Team (primarily the Product Owner) can reorder it. If there is some partially done work, this could be a factor to consider when ordering the work in the Product Backlog. When the team is planning their next Sprint, they craft a Sprint Goal, but may also select other Product Backlog Items based on their capacity.