Skip to main content

Scrum Team - allocation of Dev, Test and other Tasks

Last post 08:16 pm June 10, 2024 by Pierre Pienaar
5 replies
10:49 am June 6, 2024

Hello i am a seasoned Project Manager transitioning to be a Scrum Master. I have not managed low level team task allocation so I'm still new 

Scenario/question 1

I have an upcoming Sprint, lets say 50 Story Points of Capacity. 

I have a Mixture of Story points that are Mainly Development for the upcoming Sprint. In that scenario what would the Testers and QA and other colleagues that do in the sprint to keep them occupied? 

Scenario/question 2 

I have an upcoming Sprint, lets say 50 Story Points of Capacity. 

I have a Mixture of Story points that are Development/Test for the upcoming Sprint. Who decides who picks up what story, and how can i be sure they can do the task. If they cant do the work how do i fill up the capacity?. Some organisations Engineers/Devs are focused on one product set so the skills are specific. 

Any guidance Help would be much appreciated please

Cheers 

Rice 

07:04 pm June 6, 2024

The Developers are collectively accountable for making sure work is Done, tested, and of immediately usable quality. If they are wise, they'll apply good focus and finish work early and often throughout a Sprint. So think of it the other way round. How could any of them ever be unoccupied and idle?

08:16 pm June 6, 2024

As a Scrum Master, you do not manage "team task allocation".

A Scrum Team is a cross-functional, self-organizing, self-managing entity focused on achieving a goal. The Developers are the people on the team who create at least one Increment each Sprint. The Developers are accountable for creating a plan to achieve the Sprint Goal, adapting their plan each day as the Sprint progresses, and carrying out the work needed to get work Done.