Skip to main content

Should we make the product backlog transparent to competitors?

Last post 10:08 pm November 14, 2018 by Simon Mayer
7 replies
11:30 am November 13, 2018

Hi Folks,

I am studying regarding the transparency of product backlog. I had been reading this article

https://www.pragmaticmarketing.com/resources/articles/ask-the-experts-how-do-you-find-the-weakness-in-a-competitors-strength

One of the questions, which is often asked to me while i am consulting with clients, should we make our product backlog transparent to the competitors?

I feel that really depends upon the organization. I am not a big fan of it, as i feel it can impact our own product. As it can consumed by

competitors and they can fill in the gaps which our product has.

What are your thoughts? Thanks 

03:11 pm November 13, 2018

Product backlog is a set of functionalities and features . You did not mention why the client insists on showing functionalities and features of product to competitor?

According to me it does not make any sense.

03:50 pm November 13, 2018

Well, Agile is about transparency and if your clients feel that they want to be that transparent, I'd say "Go for it".  But if they asked my opinion, I'd ask them how much of their competitive advantage they want to lose.

In my experience, features are only revealed externally after the feature is delivered.  That is part of release notes are for. 

04:31 pm November 13, 2018

One of the questions, which is often asked to me while i am consulting with clients, should we make our product backlog transparent to the competitors?

Would those competitors be helping to inspect and adapt the product?

09:09 pm November 13, 2018