Skip to main content

Do you keep user stories about doing something

Last post 03:57 pm May 7, 2024 by shiva schroders
3 replies
07:13 am May 3, 2024

Curious to hear how different people approach their user stories. I've never been a fan of backlogs where everything is shoehorned into user story format, but equally I can see their usefulness in certain scenarios.

I'm interested as to whether people tend to use user stories to describe a user doing something, or whether they also use them for something they want the system to do, or a quality they want it to have. 

Let me use an example.

As a B2B account manager, I want to see the new releases on the webshop before they become available to purchase, so that I can talk to my customers about upcoming new products.

Now this is not the user doing something per se, but equally it's a perfectly valid thing for them to want. I guess my challenge comes in how this would actually be developed...

We know we'd have to build an integration to pass product data from the PIM (product information management) system to the ecommerce system. Within this product feed we would be passing all the product attributes, some of which are visibility date & launch date (i.e. when should it be visible vs purchasable). This integration would be built as a single piece of work, and then the ecommerce system would display or not display products based on these attributes.

But it just so happens that there is another user story in the backlog 

As a B2B account manager, I want to see all the products available for purchase so that I can decide what to add to the order.